Temple of Seti 1st at Abydos, Egypt

For the Ancient Egyptians, Abydos was one of the holiest sites in the world. As the cult center of the god Osiris and gateway to the underworld, it was a popular place of pilgrimage and burial.

The Temple of Seti I and the Osireion at Abydos

Temple of Seti I, Abydos

Temple of Seti I, Abydos

The temple was dedicated to Seti I, Osiris and Isis.  Seti 1st was a Pharaoh of the New Kingdom Nineteenth dynasty of Egypt, the son of Ramesses 1st and Queen Sitre.

DSC09227 DSC09225-2

It was begun by Seti I and finished by his son, the great Ramesses II.

DSC092282-2

Relief of the outer wall, the color of the time still remaining.

Cartouche of the Abydos King List

Cartouche of the Abydos King List

Seti wearing a blue crown to emphasize his military prowess, burns incense over an offering

Seti wearing a blue crown to emphasize his military prowess, burns incense over an offering

Panel from the Osiris temple:

Osiris temple, Horus presents royal regalia to a worshipping

Breathtaking relief

Breathtaking relief

DSC09250-2

Seti I, wearing the Deshret crown (The Red Crown) of Lower Egypt, with Prince Rammeses, (Rammeses II) is ready to rope the sacred bull for sacrifice

Osireion is located at the rear of the temple of Seti I. It is an integral part of Seti I’s funeral complex and is built to resemble an 18th Dynasty Valley of the Kings tomb.

Osireion at Abydos

Osireion at Abydos

The Osirion at the rear of the temple of Seti I.

The Osirion at the rear of the temple of Seti I.

Seti 1st was such the great Pharaoh at the ancient Egypt.

Leave a comment