Mevlid-I Halil Mosque and Ibrahim Cave, Şanlıurfa

From Balikli Göl (fishpond) I was walking into the courtyard of Mevlid-i Halil Mosque.

Washing place of the mosque.

Washing place (Wudu) of the mosque.

You have to cleanse the body here and go into the Mevlid-I Halil Mosque. Wudu; This small house is called “Wuḍūʾ” in Arabic, “Abdest Hane” in Turkish. The Qur’an says “For Allah loves those who turn to Him constantly and He loves those who keep themselves pure and clean.” In regard to Muslims being required to be clean when handling and reading the Qur’an, the Qur’an says “Which none shall touch but those who are clean.” The Islamic prophet Muhammad said that “Cleanliness is half of faith”.

Through this gate to the Mevlid-I Halil Mosque.

Through this gate to the Mevlid-I Halil Mosque.

Main courtyard of the Mevlid-i Halil Mosque

Main courtyard of the Mevlid-i Halil Mosque

Mevlid-I Halil Mosque

Mevlid-I Halil Mosque

This large mosque of Mevlid-I Halil was built next to the Abraham’s cave in 1986.

The inside of Mevlid-I Halil Mosque, very beautiful.

The inside of Mevlid-I Halil Mosque, very beautiful.

From the Mevlid-I Halil Mosque I walked to the Cave of Prophet Ibrahim. Entrance to the cave is via the same courtyard shared with the Mevlid-I Halil Mosque.

The Birth Place of Prophet Abraham in Urfa is a famous pilgrimage site where devotees go to pray and pay respects to one of history’s most revered prophets.

İbrahim Doğum (Abraham Dargah)

İbrahim Doğum (Abraham Dargah); Tourists are also able to enter the cave.

Ibrahim is believed to have been born in a cave in Urfa where he spent about ten years of his life as protection against the cruel King Nimrod who then ordered all newborn children killed upon learning of Abraham’s coming birth.

Small Wudu; You also cleanse yourself here.

Small Wudu; You also cleanse yourself here.

A praying area in the cave was constructed, but the exact spot where Abraham was born is protected by a glass encasement.  There are also faucets where devotees wash their hands with holy water.

Through this narrow entrance, going into Abraham's cave. Through a glass window, it is the place where Abraham was born.

Through this narrow entrance, going into Abraham’s cave. What are they praying for? Through a glass window, it is the place where Abraham was born.

This is the room where Abraham was born. Now ground water accumulated in there.

This is the room where Abraham was born. Now ground water accumulated in there.

I left the Abraham cave and walking to the Abraham Mosque.

Entrance and courtyard of the Abraham Mosque.

Entrance and courtyard of the Abraham Mosque. I did not enter the mosque.

 Şanlıurfa Castle is visible from here.

Şanlıurfa Castle is visible from here.

The exit of the mosque and the cafe near the Pool of Ayn Zelîha's Tears.

The exit of the mosque and the cafe near the Pool of Ayn Zelîha’s Tears.

I had a cup of coffee and took some rest in the cafe. Then I left for the next distination.

I met a flock of sheep in the suburbs of Şanlıurfa and asked him “where are you going to? Are you going to Cannan?”

The flock of sheep in the suburbs of Şanlıurfa.

The flock of sheep in the suburbs of Şanlıurfa.

He was laughing and shaking hand, then went away to the south. I shouted him “İyi yolculuklar (Have a nice journey).”

Leave a Reply

