Soglio, Graubünden Switzerland

Scenery from Vicosoprano to Promontogno

Scenery from Vicosoprano to Promontogno

Map of Bregaglia Valley: Soglio⇐Promontogno⇐Vicosoprano

Map of Bregaglia Valley: Soglio⇐Promontogno⇐Vicosoprano

Arrived in Promontogno village

Arrived at the bus terminal in Promontogno village

Promontogno is located along the river Mera, at 823 meters above sea level, a small charming village. I took a post-auto at the bus terminal in Promontogno to the Soglio village.

Views, from Promontogno to the Soglio village.

Views, from Promontogno to the Soglio village.

Arrived at the parking lot of Soglio.

Arrived at the parking lot of Soglio.

Gooing up the path, the tourist information office is there.

Going up the path, the tourist information office is there.

I got the town map of Soglio in the tourist information office. 

I got the town map of Soglio in the tourist information office.

Soglio is a village and a former municipality in the district of Maloja close to the border with Italy. It is now a part of the municipality of Bregaglia. It has a populationof 167 (in 2008).

Reformed Church is next to the tourist information office.

Reformed Church of St. Lorenzo is next to the tourist information office.

The interior of the Reformed Church Soglio

The interior of the Reformed Church Soglio

Gate of the Church Yard

Gate of the Church Yard, I met a woman here.

In front of the church, I met an elderly woman who live in St. Moritz. She was on the way to visit her parents’ home in this village. And she guided me through narrow alleys to her  parents’ home.

She led me into the narrow alleys and explained variously.

She led me into the narrow alleys and explained variously.

She said "I was playing with my friends here when I was a child."

She said “I was playing with my friends here when I was a child.”

Brunnen (Fountain) of Soglio

Brunnen (Fountain) of Soglio

Walked around the village.

Walked around the village.

We arrived in front of the Hotel Palazzo Salis.

The Hotel Palazzo Salis is listed as Swiss heritage sites of national significance. More than 100 years ago a hotel was created from a manor house built in 1630 and expanded in 1701.

Very kind woman and I.

Very kind woman and I.

She guided me in the village. And we parted here. “Grazie, signora. Arrivederci!”

After she left, I entered the hotel restaurant to have coffee.

After she left, I entered the hotel restaurant to have coffee.

Then, I went down the hill to the bus stop.

Then, I went down the hill to the bus stop.

I took a post-auto and left the village of Soglio.

I took a post-auto and left the village of Soglio.

 

2 thoughts on “Soglio, Graubünden Switzerland

Leave a Reply

