Jewelry shop in Kandy, Sri Lanka

Kandy is a major city in Sri Lanka, located in the Central Province. It is the second largest city in the country after Colombo. The population is 125,400 in the 2011.

Photos on the way from Matale to Kandy.

Photos on the way from Matale to Kandy.

The Kandy city. Clock tower is a symbol of ancient city Kandy.

The Kandy city. Clock tower is a symbol of ancient city Kandy.

(First I should tell you, this post may not be fun. Creating the post I am also unpleasant.)

Arrived at the Kandy town, first the guide forced me to drive to a jewelry dealer against my will. I am not interested in jewelry at all.

The Kandy city. Taken to a jewelry shop.

The Kandy city. Taken to a jewelry shop.

Sri Lanka is one of the meccas of gemology. Few sources, especially among active localities, can match its rich history as a gem producer and trade center. As Sri Lanka takes its place in today’s gem and jewelry industry, the gemologist can observe a combination of traditional methods and modern technologies as well as new business strategies for a highly competitive market.

The jeweler's shop where I was taken to here by force.

The jeweler’s shop where I was taken to here by force.

Have to watch the T.V about stones from this country for fifteen minutes

Have to watch the T.V about stones from this country for fifteen minutes first.

Jewelry store manager with minion. Do you think he is honest and serious?

Jewelry store manager with a minion. Do you think he is honest and serious?

He explained jewelry and threated me to buy them. The guide was outside of the room. He would know everything.

He showed me a lot of jewelry. This is a waste of time.

He showed me a lot of jewelry. It was a waste of time.

This jewelry does not have price tags.

These jewelry do not have price tags.

This shop has many employees, but customer's only me.

This shop has many employees, but customer’s only me. They must sell the goods at a high price.

Show-windows in the shop.

Show-windows in the shop.

I said to the manager that I will write about this shop on my blog. So I was released. However, I did not say that I will advertise this shop.

Booklet of the jeweler's shop

Booklet of the jeweler’s shop

So, this post was made by the promise of the manager and I. Looking over the net, many tourists have an unpleasant experience at some jewelry dealers in Sri Lanka.

Articles contributed on the net about some jeweler's shops in Sri Lankan.

Articles contributed on the net about some jeweler’s shops in Sri Lanka.

It rained when I went out. I wasted time for two or three hours.

It rained when I went out. I wasted time for two or three hours.

I hope that this page will be useful for the people who are going to Sri Lanka.

 

 

Leave a Reply

