Puente de Vizcaya, Bilbao

Stopped by the Guggenheim Museum, took some photos and I went to Puente de Vizcaya.

Guggenheim Museum

Guggenheim Museum

The Vizcaya Bridge is a transporter bridge that links the towns of Portugalete and Las Arenas (part of Getxo) in the Biscay province, crossing the mouth of the River Nervion.

Ria del Nervion (River Nervion)

Ria del Nervion (River Nervion)

Arrived at the bridge, I was overwhelmed by the huge building. So big!

Puente de Vizcaya, Bilbao

Puente de Vizcaya, Bilbao

P1080976-3P1080976-4

I got the brochure at the tourist information office. It’s better to read this booklet than my explanation.

The gondola is coming from the opposite bank and comes alongside.

The gondola is coming from the opposite bank and comes alongside.

Gondola has come alongside the pier, vehicles go on board the center of it.

Gondola has come alongside the pier, vehicles go on board the center of it.

Passengers go on board the cabins on both side.

Passengers go on board the cabins on both side.

View from the gondola, Puente de Vizcaya.

View from the gondola, Puente de Vizcaya.

Arrived on the opposite shore.

Arrived on the opposite shore.

Arrived on the opposite shore, I took a photo of the entire image of the bridge.

Arrived on the opposite shore, I took a photo of the entire image of the bridge.

After that, I went back to the original place again.

After that, I went back to the original place again.

When I was going to leave the Puente de Vizcaya, I met a local family. They were going away and said, “Kaixo, Bidaia ona izan!” (I think, they greeted “Hello, have a nice trip!”) And they left for the home.

The local family near the Puente de Vizcaya.

The local family near the Puente de Vizcaya.

They don’t seem to be rich, but I think they are surely happy.

Flowers from the Northern Spain

Flowers from the Northern Spain

 

Leave a Reply

