Grasmere Village, England

Grasmere is a village, and popular tourist destination, in the centre of the English Lake District. The village is on the river Rothay which flows into Grasmere lake which lies about 0.5 km to the south.

I arrived at the village through a coffin route at 11:40.

Grasmere Village Grasmere – St Oswald’s Church and Wordsworth Graves.

Grasmere - St Oswald's Church Grasmere - St Oswald's Church Wordsworth graves

Sarah Nelson’s Gingerbread Shop

Sarah Nelson's Grasmere Gingerbread  

I got a tin of gingerbread for my family.

I had a lunch at the restaurant of the Swan Hotel at 12:40. I ate the dish of Lancashire hotpot for the first time, but was delicious.

the restaurant of the swan hotel

Lancashire hotpot is made traditionally from lamb or mutton and onion, topped with sliced potatoes, left to bake in the oven all day in a heavy pot and on a low heat. Originating in the days of heavy industrialisation in Lancashire, it requires a minimum of effort to prepare.

Lancashire Hotpot

It is sometimes served at parties in England, because it is easy to prepare for a large number of people and is relatively inexpensive.

I visited the “Dove Cottage” after the lunch. Here is Dove Cottage and the Garden.

Dove CottageDove Cottage Garden

Dove Cottage is a house on the edge of Grasmere. It is best known as the home of the poet William Wordsworth and his sister Dorothy Wordsworth from December 1799 to May 1808, where they spent over eight years of “plain living, but high thinking”.

Photography is prohibited in many museums in the U.K. Unfortunately I cannot show the photographs of the cottage inside.

My Heart Leaps Up When I Behold

My heart leaps up when I behold
A rainbow in the sky:
So was it when my life began;
So is it now I am a man;
So be it when I shall grow old,
Or let me die!
The Child is father of the Man;
And I could wish my days to be
Bound each to each by natural piety.

By William Wordsworth, at the Dove Cottage.

Leave a Reply

