Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle, Scotland

Loch Ness is a large, deep, freshwater loch in the Scottish Highlands extending for approximately 37 km southwest of Inverness. Its surface is 15.8 m above sea level. Loch Ness is best known for the sightings of the cryptozoological Loch Ness Monster, also known affectionately as “Nessie”.

This photograph is on the way of leaving Inverness for Loch Ness.

From Inverness to Loch Ness

Loch Ness Centre  The Loch Ness Centre and Exhibition

The Loch Ness Centre and Exhibition

I entered the centre and asked about Nessie. They said that the Nessie exists by all means; “if you look hard you will find the Nessie surely”.

Submarine and Ship of Nessie Investigation Nessie investigation submarine and ship

They also said it’s better to look for Nessie from the top of Urquhart Castle. So I paid admission and entered  the Urquhart Castle.

Urquhart Castle sits beside Loch Ness, between Fort William and Inverness. It is close to the village of Drumnadrochit. Though extensively ruined, it was in its day one of the largest strongholds of medieval Scotland, and remains an impressive structure, splendidly situated on a headland overlooking Loch Ness. It is also near this castle that the majority of Nessie (Loch Ness Monster) sightings occur.

Urquhart Castle

I ran up to the highest part of the castle, and watch for Nessie to emerge from the water.    I looked hard around, but it was only the tourists who wandered around the ruins and the quiet surface of the lake.

I turned around to see the ruined castle for a while.

Urquhart castle

I got off to the shore to take some photographs of the opposite bank.

When I looked at the opposite bank I caught the mysterious feeling and heard the noise of the water.
And I watch the right hand,  “Oh, that’s Nessie! I discovered it at last.”   The monster threw a fierce look at me. My knees were shaking.  Still I aimed the camera at the monster and released a shutter. He disappeared in quick movement underwater in the twinkling of an eye.

Nessie

And only quietness was there.  I looked around, but nobody watched it.

I left.  “Good-bye Nessie,  I would never see you again.”

Leave a Reply

